Annual Fee For Registered Sex Offenders Starts April 1st, 2014
Legislation signed into law in November of 2013 by Governor Rick Snyder will require all individuals who are required to register with the sex offender registry to pay an annual fee of $50. This fee replaces the one time fee that had been previously required. Those that can prove that they are unable to pay the fee can get a waiver.
The intent of the new law is to bring Michigan in line with neighboring states that require sex offenders to pay for the operating cost of sex offender websites.
Michigan has more than 40,000 registered sex offenders and claims are that it costs the State of Michigan over $600,000 per year to maintain the database and site.